A Recipe for You

Standard

Since I made this last night for dinner, it was on my mind and I thought I would share this delicious recipe with you.

Spanish Rice & Pork Chops
by Janett  (my mom!) (If I remember right, this recipe is doubled from Mom’s original.)

1 lb. Bacon fried crisp and crumbled
1 cup finely chopped onion
1 cup finely chopped green pepper
3 cups Minute Rice, uncooked
1 can (14 1/2 oz.) diced tomatos. (I use Hunts with oregano, garlic & basil.)
3 cups water
1 tsp. Salt
1/4 – 1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp. Oregano
1 or 2 pkg. Pork chops, depends on how many you want to serve

Fry bacon saving all the drippings.

Remove bacon and add onion and green pepper to the drippings. Sauté on medium until onions are translucent and peppers are tender.

Add the Minute Rice to onions and peppers and stir until rice is well coated with drippings.
Add can diced tomatoes and the water.
Add salt, black pepper and oregano & stir in the crumbled bacon. Put the mixture into a 9 x 13 backing dish.

Lightly brown the pork chops and lay over the rice mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

I really hope you try it and like it. My family loves it!

Leave a Reply

